Breaking News




Failed loading XML file.

Jharkhand Assembly polls Jharkhand Assembly polls

Over 64 % polling recorded in first phase of Jharkhand Assembly polls

Dec 01, 2019

An estimated 64.44 per cent polling was recorded in the first phase of Assembly elections in Jharkhand on Saturday.

Thirteen constituencies spread over six districts - Chatra, Palamu, Gumla, Garhwa, Latehar and Lohardaga - went to polls in this phase.

 Jharkhand, Chief Electoral Officer, Vinay Kumar Chaubey said that the percentage is likely to increase after receiving the final poll figures. Mr.Choubey said today’s polling was challenging as most of the polling booths were in naxal-infested areas.

 Maximum over 71 percent voting was recorded in Lohardaga assembly constituency. While 70 percent voting was registered in Bishunpur followed by over 67 percent in naxal infested constituencies Latehar and Bhavnathpur.

 Voting percentage has increased more than 1.15 in comparison to 2014 assembly elections. 

 No major incident was reported during today polls. Electoral fortune of 189 candidates, including 15 women candidates, are in the fray.

 These include Health Minister Ramchandra Chandravansi, State Congress Chief Ramesh Oraon and former Ministers Dadai Dubey, Bhanu Pratap Shahi, Radha Krishna Kishore and Kamlesh Singh.

Login to post comments


New Delhi

Facebook Like

Media Partners

Success Party India Exquisite Pageant

Featured Videos GNN

Top News


« December 2019 »
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31