Breaking News




JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 44

JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 42

EC removes Kolkata police chief EC removes Kolkata police chief

EC removes Kolkata police chief

Apr 06, 2019

Election Commission acts tough ahead of the polls, removes Chief Secretary of Andhra Pradesh and 4 top police officials of West Bengal including Kolktata police commissioner.

In two major moves just before elections, EC removed Kolkata Police Commissioner Anuj Sharma and Bidhannagar Police Commissioner Gyanwant Singh on Friday ahead of the Lok Sabha elections in a major shake-up in the police establishment of the state.

Rajesh Kumar has been appointed the new police commissioner of Kolkata. The EC has written to Chief Secretary West Bengal regarding transfer and posting of few officers in the state in view of the poll preparedness.

The Election Commission also took Andhra Pradesh chief secretary Anil Chandra Punetha (1984 batch) out of the election duties and appointed senior IAS officer L V Subrahmanyam (1983 batch) as the new chief secretary.

Login to post comments


Partly Cloudy


New Delhi

Partly Cloudy

Humidity: 79%

Wind: 14.48 km/h

  • 04 Jan 2019

    Partly Cloudy 20°C 7°C

  • 05 Jan 2019

    Sunny 21°C 8°C

Facebook Like

Media Partners

Success Party India Exquisite Pageant

Featured Videos GNN

Top News


« April 2019 »
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30